Understanding writing orchestral trailer music with samples?

Hey Forum. 

So I usually compose with electronic instruments, but as im growing as a composer I would like to start using samples eg.. spitfire's albion, LASS lite 2 for strings & cinebrass core for brass. 

I would like to try my hand at the compositions used currently in modern trailer music. 

I'm unsure where to start. The tracks sound huge and I don't know what the rules are, when it comes to doubling up on tracks or must it be realistic to the orchestra's players and sections. 

Do I compose for the instrument or the ensemble section? 

I've heard some composers talk about long and short notes, are they refering to composing in staccato and legato? 

Just some information on where I could start, 

Hope somebody out there knows! Thanks people. 

One: search online for online courses, write to them see what they offer in this field, there are quite schools offer this kind of material, tell them what you want, see what they can do. Your looking at a large field, which may require a lot of understanding, and learning. (ie. i dont know how much you know, eg music theory)

Two: pick up a copy of "The planets" by Holst, and get the sheet music too. If it's good enough to "inspire" Hans Zimmer then it's good enough for you. Can you read and understand what Holst has done? Any of it? All of it? None of it?

Three: If you have kontakt, look at the factory library, listen to the orchestral sounds of each instrument, how well do you know the sounds of each instrument? How well do you know its range, it's emotion. Then answer you own question, how does this emotionally make me feel if it's a) a solo instrument, or b) an ensemble. Repeat for different melodies in different ranges.