Aux channels and BFD3

segfault

Hi everyone,

I'm a newbie and I have a question concerning aux channels, here's what I want to do:

- I'm using BFD3 as a software instrument

- I've programmed a beat in one region that I'd like to split up into many, i.e. each drum should have its own track (e.g. bass drum on track 2, snare on track 3, etc.)

- I can split the tracks into many using Edit -> Separate MIDI events -> By Note Pitch

- So far so good, however, if I mute one track, all the tracks that I've created are muted. It seems as if they're all dependent on initial track PROBLEM

- Moving forward to the software instrument, I chose "BFD3 (8x stereo, 8x mono)"

- In Logic Pro X I created 8 aux channels in the mixer by clicking on the "+" symbol. I labelled them.

- In BFD3 I navigated to the mixer and chose the corresponding channels (i.e. Stereo 1, Stereo 2)

- Back in Logic's mixer, I changed the input to "BFD 3-4" etc. and I there I can muted, solo, add plugins for the individual drums (i.e. bass drum, snare, etc.)

- Getting back to the problem, how do I "marry" what I see in the mixer and Main Window? I'd like to resolve the dependency to the main midi region above.

Something doesn't seem right with this approach and it annoys me that the tracks are all linked together in the main window. And I'm not even sure I'm using my computer's resources efficiently by doing this. :?

So basically all I want to do is have a new track and channel strip for each drum to add plugins or manipulate automations, etc. Pretty standard, huh?

How would you go about setting this up correctly? This there a tutorial somewhere on the net that has the solution?

Sounds like you're pretty well onto it... 

I basically split things out with AUX's too. However, I just leave the main midi file for it on the main track (which is everything minus what you've separated out to other aux's. Then you can have what ever you like re plugins, automation etc on any of the separated audio paths.