No Sound on Imported Tracks

JustGotPaid

Hi all. Nice forum. I'm relatively new to Logic, and don't use it a lot, and am trying to learn the program now. I hope you can tell me how to solve the following problem. I've used Logic in the past and have never had this kind of trouble. Here's what's happening, and here are the scenarios.

1.  A friend gave me a Logic Pro X session file that has a bass track and a drum track on a song he is working on. I can open that and it plays fine. However, if I want to import another audio, the audio will import, the meters will move when I hit "Play", there is every indication that there is a signal, but there is no sound.

2. If I open a new, blank session, I can import a drum or other audio track or loop to an audio track, but there is no sound.

3. To make it more weird, sometimes I can import...let's say....a drum track or loop to an audio track and it will play, but I have no idea what I did differently. I can then do the exact same thing and import a bass track and it shows up in the track, the meters move, but no sound. I have no idea why one plays and one doesn't.  Sometimes neither one plays. I can't find any pattern to this, and I compare these tracks with no sound to the tracks with sound, and I can't discern any difference in the settings. However, I know there has to be something different.

Something is not set right, but I have no idea what it is. I don't know the Logic Pro lingo very well yet, so be very elemental in your suggestions and explanations while I am learning.

Thank you very much. All suggestions will be appreciated.

DS

I got in touch with a friend who uses Logic who showed me what to do. When I would add a track I would see the drop down menu but I didn't notice that the default on the Output was always set to 3-4 when it should be 1-2. I don't know why it's like that, but when I change it to Output 1-2 it works fine.