Another autotune/pitch correction question.

Advocate

Hi everyone,

Total newbie to Logic here and to be honest, video and Final Cut are my preferred hobby, but I digress.

I work as a nurse in the UK and, as part of our annual Flu Vaccination campaign we now produce a light hearted video encouraging our staff to get their flu jab every year.  Part of this is that a song is picked, the lyrics re-written (generally cheesy) and the song is recorded for the "stars" of the video to mime to when it comes time for filming.  This part of the work is normally done by one of the guys who works in the Hospital Radio station but this year due to circumstances beyond our control, I have been asked to produce the song as well as the video.  I have very little time to do it in.

I went into work yesterday and recorded each member of staff singing the song as separate audio files, with the plan being that I could use Logics pitch correction tool to clean up the vocals.  I'm rapidly learning that pitch correction isn't a magical panacea!

On the whole the singing isn't too bad, but when I try to pitch correct it using the built in tool or Melodyne the results I'm getting aren't what I expected, with some notes being corrected to entirely the wrong notes.  Whilst trying to learn some more I read that these tools can only correct to within something like half a semitone so that's maybe why I'm getting the results that I am.

My question is (sorry it has taken so long to get to the point!) can I record the melody onto a separate track using one of the software synths and get either of the pitch correction tools to use that melody as a guide when correcting the vocals?  It sounds like that's something the tools should be able to do, but I can't for the life of me find any instructions on how to do it, my google-fu has let me down :-(

If this is possible I'd really appreciate a mini guide on how to do it.

Many thanks,

Alistair

• 2 weeks later...