CPU Overload on 8 core Mac Pro ?

Marcvern

Hello David, and friends on this great forum,

I would appreciate any input or suggestions on this problem I am having. I am a composer and lately my big templates are running about 75-100 tracks and software running on Kontakt, The Play engine, etc. My MacPro is a 8 core with 64G of RAM. I see that when I am composing a big project, my RAM can reach up to 57 G of loaded synths and software...all of the partitions are midi which I play on my external keyboard. Because of this, when the partitions get a little complex or towards the end of the project, I often get the "the CPU Overload message" :-(  . I have tried everything from increasing the buffer size I\O to 256 and then to 512, changing the rewiring behavior to off. Getting crackles and pops, audio cutting on and off, messages mentionning the audio is out of sync....the only thing that recently helped was to was to change the Process Buffer Range to Large. But I still see the CPU is working very hard and is close of overloading again. 

Any suggestions anybody ? It is just frustrating as I went from an iMac to a MacPro to resolve these issues. Had to save up a long time for the MacPro and now it's doing the same thing :-( I have friends suggesting me to switch to a PC and to Cubase. But I love my MacPro and Logic Pro X. 

Thank you my friends, 

Marco from Montreal, Canada.

That's a pretty massive workload for any computer!

Look at your individual core CPU usage.  Are you maxing out one core while not using the others as much?  If so, there are some strategies to spread out the load better.

If the load is spread across all cores fairly evenly, and there isn't some other issue at play (incorrect Logic Preference settings, some other computer issue, etc) then freezing individual CPU hungry tracks is the way to go.  Sometimes freezing just a couple CPU killer tracks is all that is necessary.