Trouble understanding Overlapping recordings

alexwnbrg

Hi all, 

I'm still a bit new with Logic. I come from using Ableton, and I honestly loved how it treated midi clips (regions) when you would record over another. In Ableton, it would just record a brand new clip over the other one. Let's say you recorded over the last bar of a 4 bar existing clip, you could just move the new 1 bar clip over off of the existing 4 bar clip, and the bar you recorded over would still be there from the original clip. 

I've been using Logic X for a good 5 months now, and I still can't wrap my head around the way it treats regions when overlapping. I've read the manual a few times on this subject, looked at other's posts on forums, and it still just never seems to work the way I want it to. I've messed around with different settings in Preferences > Recording > Overlapping Recordings. This is what I'm looking for:

When I record over a region, whether cycle is on or off, I'd really like it to create a new region on top of that region. I'd like it to essentially behave the same way as in Ableton. If I have an existing region that is 4 bars long, and I want to just change something in the last bar, I'd like to record over the last bar of that existing region and have it create a new region that now sits on top of the other one. If I move the region I just recorded, the other one would still be there. Or if it wasn't, you'd be able to drag it back to it's original length and all of the data would still be there.