Automation not recording

MrMooky

Hey guys,

So I've gone through all of the latch/touch/write automation "not working" threads and articles I can find, no answer yet...

So here's the deal. I've got a fader on my controller set to CC11. I have a region of midi notes already in controlling the native strings (not the new ones, still on Logic 10.0.6).

When I hit play and start moving the fader, with automation mode set to Latch for this track, I start moving the fader. I can hear the difference in expression as I move it, but can see that no automation is being written, and the automation doesn't play back when I go and play it afterwards.

It seems to be working for general track automation, volume, pan, etc. - but I'm not seeing any changes in editor I'm pretty new at all this, not sure what I'm doing wrong.

With my screen exactly as it is below, is there any reason that my the expression changes I'm hearing when I press play and start moving the slider aren't being recorded into the region editor as automation data?

Deleted plist and cs file, no help. Thanks for the help!

178908035_ScreenShot2018-05-07at12_31_17AM.thumb.png.746f4a26372260766ec07134c25ee647.png

• 2 years later...
What knob on what instrument are you trying to automate ? What version of Logic are you on ?

Logic Pro X. In BBCSO discover I assigned a knob for the "expression". i want that when I play strings Logic register also the variation on that expression. When I touch the knob it moves, but Logic didn't record the variation, even in "Write" mode. Behringer UMX61

In BBCSO discover I assigned a knob for the "expression". i want that when I play strings Logic register also the variation on that expression. When I touch the knob it moves, but Logic didn't record the variation, even in "Write" mode. Behringer UMX61

Expression is MIDI data, just like MIDI notes you play on your keyboard. You capture Expression the same you would MIDI notes: by pressing Record in Logic.