Nice sounding piano + reverb in LPX

Hi All,

I am new to Logic and was wondering if anyone can point me in the right direction regarding pianos mixed with reverb.

I am looking for this type of sound:

However, when I create a piano or use one of the presets, the reverb/piano doesnt exactly sound as full and warm as the example above. The keys sound a bit thin, so I added a bit of compression which seemed to help a bit. However, once I add Space Designer, it seems like the piano just sounds further away and muddy,,not really clear that there is just reverb on it...

Here's an example of a piano song idea I am working on but really am unhappy with the lack of body and warmth in the piano

[soundcloud]

[/soundcloud]

Any body have any suggestions for a nice, warm and mellow sounding piano?

The piano on your Youtube excerpt sounds quite similar to Keyscape C7 Cinematic patch.

To obtain a "warmer" piano sound, I think you should use some EQ to filter out the high frequencies, and/or boost the low end ones

To get more control on reverb, splitting the dry from the wet signal is a viable approach.

Different technics are possible to achieve same.

For instance, you could instantiate your piano patch on a channelstrip, create 2 (or more) Sends to Auxes. One onto which EQ is used for low pass filtering the dry sound, and the other(s) Auxes for the reverb(s). That way you could also adjust discretely the EQ for the (each) reverb(s) and place each part of the audio (reverb, dry piano) to occupy a different stereo image (width). Try pushing the reverb out to each side, in the sterao field and keep the dry piano more in the middle. Using different reverb settings at once is often seen. A good ambient, along with a larger space one, help building dimension and soundscape relief.

• 4 weeks later...

Some thoughts after listening to your piece.