Some basic questions about LPX regarding editing MIDI (piano only)

Saberlarry

Hello everyone, I use LPX as my DAW to tweak my MIDI files after straight recording my piano performance via the built-in record of my digital piano (Roland FP-90). As I'm not familiar with audio terms and only editing files for personal liking, I've been manually doing things step by step without utilising the already-available functions that LPX offers. For instance:

- For some reason (probably due to my poor technique as a non-serious self-taught player), my sustain pedal lines are really inconsistent - they may sound just fine through speakers, but once I use LPX with a VST, the flaws are now exposed (mostly missed pedalling). All this time, I've been deleting the WHOLE Sustain lines and manually re-draw them, so, the question is: is there a shortcut to quickly set all the inconsistent lines to a specified value (like 0 to 128) and just re-drag them where you need them to be (in case of missed pedalling)?

- I've been editing notes (dynamics mostly) in the Piano Roll, I wonder if there's a Music sheet-like area where you can apply musical notation for quick edit and LPX will automatically realise it? For example, if I want a section to be played decrescendo, as of this moment, I have to manually edit notes-by-notes with gradually decreasing in volume.

Thanks for reading!

Re: Sustain: you can just create an automation point (Command-click) and drag it toward the right, it will erase any point in its passage.

There is, the Score Editor, however for decrescendo the best is to actually change the velocities of your notes. In the Piano Roll in the automation area at the bottom, you can choose Velocity and draw a line to make your note velocities crescendo or decrescendo.