Stereo Out/Master Not Working

JAT

Hello! Logic Newbie here,

I'm having a mixing problem. I would like to have a cello (Software instrument) track be louder than all of my other tracks, but softer than a click (software instrument) track.

This is to help a student practice their cello part with a softer ensemble and louder click track backing them up. I'd like to bounce/export the file this way.

After that, I'd like to bring the cello's level down and each other individual instrument in the ensemble up, one at a time. This is to help every other ensemble player practice via the same method as the cello method I described above. So I'd be sending each player a file that has their instrument + soft ensemble + click.

Here's the problem: I'm able to get the cello idea to work, but as soon as I want to lower the cello volume to the same soft dynamic as the ensemble, I still get a loud cello. I'm able to drag volume knobs with varying degrees of success. The "stereo out" and "master" channels don't seem to affect the cello at all; if I drag their knobs all the way down, the cello remains unaffected (still loud). This problem isn't happening with the other instruments, as far as I can see. I don't know--I'm kind of stuck on this step.

Anyway, does anybody know why that might be? How come the master and stereo out are both not affecting the cello's volume?

In an effort to work around this problem, I've tried rerouting the cello or the ensemble as a whole by experimenting with VCA, and bussing/aux channel strips so far--all to no lasting avail. I'm very new to all of this, so perhaps I'm overlooking something very basic.

Thanks for your help!

Can you provide two screenshots, during playback, so that we can see the activity on your channel strip level meters, with the Cello soloed.

1. With the fader on the Cello up so that we can see the Cello loud on the meter.