Is This Gain Change Due to the Pan Law?

NearDeafExperience

Hello,

Noob here. I'm using Logic 10.6.2 with Superior Drummer 3 and I'm trying to split to stereo outputs from SD3 into dual-mono in Logic so that I can process them individually. In this case, KickIn and KickOut from SD3 are coming in on Supe3 and Sup4, respectively. From what I understand is that Core Audio only shuttles things between applications in stereo. So, to try to get around this I've brought the stereo Supe3-4 in twice, on two separate input channels, and have added a dual-mono Gain plugins on each track. I've then set the R portion of the gain to -96dB in the first (Supe3-L) instance, and the L portion of the gain to -96dB in the second (Sure-R) instance. Supe3-L now only contains KickIn (on the left), and Supe3-R now only contains KickOut (on the right). The Level Meters pre and post the gain plugins show there is no loss to either side in this filtering step. So far so good. Now I've gone and bussed Supe3-L to Bus 100 (KickIn) and Supe3-R to Bus 101 (KickOut), but I've set both buss inputs to mono. With all faders at unity gain, the Level Meters on the busses are measuring 6dB below the individual input channels. I think this may be expected due to the Pan Law, but wanted to ask to make sure I'm not doing something wrong for what I'm trying to accomplish here. Screenshot hereafter.

1477189867_why6dB.thumb.png.b40de9bdbf65564037f7273ef661b64b.png

Thank you in advance!

-NearDeafExperiene

From what I understand is that Core Audio only shuttles things between applications in stereo.

I've no idea what you mean here, you can have mono, stereo or multichannel audio in CoreAudio and Logic just fine.

Why don't you just load a multi-output instance of the plugin, with as many mono or stereo channels as you need coming up on their own mixer channels for individual processing - that's what it's designed to do. I'm not sure why you're going on "splitting stereo" channels all the time.