Fade in and out several midi tracks at once.

bhergar

Thanks in advance for your help. I’m a beginner with logic pro, so I don’t construct complicated projects at this moment. I have several midi files, that I developed and use with a yamaha keyboard (psr sx900). I need to make some adjustments and changes to those midi files and take them back to be use in the yamaha keyboard. I have been trying, in several ways, to include a fade out (CC 7, Volume) to several tracks of the project at once without any positive solution. I was able to do it to one track at a time but to all the tracks at the same time in order to have the same behavior at the end of the song. It would be ridiculous to edit the file and include several midi CC 7 lines at the end of the file with the reducion of the volume parameters one by one. Because I need the the midi file to be taken back to the Yamaha, the file must be compatible again with the keyboard, that means that, the only thing that changes is to include several cc 7 at the end of the file in each track. Is it posible to edit these files using logic pro and fade out or in several midi tracks at once?

Thanks.

Yamaha keyboards are notorious for looking on the world of MIDI in a, let's say - special way. In any case, driving different instruments via different MIDI channels pretty much requires the use of MIDI CC7 for volume on each individual MIDI channel *unless* there is an extra, global MIDI channel including master volume for the keyboard's entire multichannel performance. The Yamaha's manual can tell you if that's the case.

Christian Obermaier
Contact me for private Logic Consulting, Training, Troubleshooting via Skype, Zoom or Teamviewer
1 x MacPro 6core 2010 24Gb RAM, 2 x MacBookPro i7 2012 16Gb RAM, OSX.14.6. Mojave, Logic X.5.1