Audio when recording way out - needs low latency mode

Stoobysnax

I’m a 15 year Logic Pro professional user, and never in my 15 years have I stumbled across this, but on my new M1 / Monterey system, if I’m recording any audio, a vocal let’s say, after recording the audio is way off. 

If I turn on low latency mode while recording, everything works and lines up.  But I’ve never had to do that before and it’s annoying because if you forget, some takes line up and some don’t. Any ideas why this is all of a sudden happening? Solutions?

This is happening because you're using a plug-in that creates latency, which you may have never done before. You've described the solution to your own problem: the Low Latency mode, that is designed to solve that issue when recording while using latency-inducing plug-ins. The only alternative is to not use any latency-inducing plug-ins during recording. 

4 hours ago, David Nahmani said:

This is happening because you're using a plug-in that creates latency, which you may have never done before. You've described the solution to your own problem: the Low Latency mode, that is designed to solve that issue when recording while using latency-inducing plug-ins. The only alternative is to not use any latency-inducing plug-ins during recording. 

No this is the point I'm making. I'm using the same methods, doing the same things I've always done. opening the same sessions. On my previous systems, I've never ever had to engage Low Latency while tracking audio. Only used low latency to be able to play soft synths without a huge noticeable latency. 

All of a sudden on this system, I'm having to use it. Something has changed, and I can assure you it's not that I'm using higher latency plugins all of a sudden. 

Are you saying you've always had to use Low Latency mode engaged when recording any audio in order to avoid this?

Edited by Stoobysnax

Just now, Stoobysnax said: