What's up with quantizing being completely useless when editing multiple takes/multiple mics, and various random/inconsistent usage issues?

boneswald

I'm a producer who uses Logic and Pro Tools interchangeably. This isn't a hate post, but I find Logic to be lightyears behind Pro Tools' editing for the most basic of quantizing tasks. I often will have a problem and google it, find a post on this forum from 2007 that usually ends with "we'll look into this for a new update", and over a decade later I'm dealing with the same problems.

Some select complaints:

• Manually editing drum mics sometimes just doesn't work. Group editing enabled, should be able to easily shift individually hits around and have all the tracks for different mics follow the edit, right? But this only works sometimes. Sometimes one track's file will be slightly different in length, usually cut off at the beginning or end - and when this happens, Logic doesn't sync it with the other tracks anymore when editing. Why? Shouldn't it always sync the tracks within a group even if the regions are slightly different lengths? And why would they be different lengths to begin with? I know there's no ghost in the computer manually changing file lengths, but it sure feels like there is. 

• Flex, in all modes, does not work without very noticeable artifacts for quantizing drums, guitar - any remotely complex source. I don't understand why there is no equivalent to Beat Detective. All I want is to be able to cut up the audio based on transients, move a few around even if manually, and batch fade all the regions. As far as I know, that's not a feasible workflow within Logic. Why? Seems so simple.