Using the Roland RPU-3 in Logic

Pipeorgan
Go to solution Solved by Atlas007,

I am new to Logic and would like to use the Roland RPU-3 to control output volume and shifting the track I am focussed on when playing instruments using my Roland FP-60X keyboard. I am using the sustain pedal without problems but how do I configure the other 2 pedals?

Thanks, yes I have and I will try tomorrow try to get centre pedal to control the volume. However I cannot, at the moment, see any way to control which instrument track is linked to the keyboard. I do not need the sustain function when playing my organ samples so ideally I would like the L and R pedals to step through the  Logic instrument tracks, say L goes up and R goes down. This way I could change the  organ stop combination without using a mouse.

Without doing anything, the pedals will send whatever MIDI data they are programmed to send to the currently selected instrument track you are playing.

If you want the pedals to (always) toggle through the tracks as described, you can use controller assignments to learn each pedal to the "Select Next Track" and "Select Previous Track" key commands.

• Like 1

8 hours ago, des99 said:

If you want the pedals to (always) toggle through the tracks as described, you can use controller assignments to learn each pedal to the "Select Next Track" and "Select Previous Track" key commands.

An easy way to assign your pedals this way is: 

1. Choose Logic Pro > Key Commands > Edit,
  2. Search for and select "Select Next Track",
  3. Click Learn New Assignment,
  4. Press the pedal. 

Repeat with the other pedal for Select Previous Track.

Still struggling on this I’m afraid.

I can assign the Left and Right pedals to ‘Select Next Track” and Select Previous Track” respectively,  but when I depress either Pedal the selected track does not change. However the tracks change if I depress either the up or down arrows on the keyboard.