Change the MIDI range

Danny Wyatt
Go to solution Solved by Danny Wyatt,

Try with the following mathematical formula:

X-31*1.323=Y

(where X is the original drum velocity value and Y is the converted-expanded value)

BTW, I think that could also be achieved via the Environment (using two Transformer objects) or (possibly?) via the Modifier MIDI Fx plugin...

Edited by Atlas007

6 minutes ago, Atlas007 said:

X-31*1.323=Y

I'm not sure how to apply that in terms of JavaScript... also, would that convert the whole range? Or just 1 note?

7 minutes ago, Atlas007 said:

BTW, I think that could also be achieved via the Environment (using two Transformer objects)

My goal is to save this as a Patch so I can use it without always having to go to the Environment. To be honest, I don't even like the Environment at all. It just feels a bit "messy" to me. On top of that, I'm not an expert at all when it comes to it anyway. But yeah, I'm looking at something that I can save as a patch.

11 minutes ago, Atlas007 said:

via the Modifier MIDI Fx plugin

I tried this, but no matter what settings I picked, it wouldn't go all the way down. I noticed some super minor difference, but nothing significant.

19 minutes ago, Danny Wyatt said:

I'm not sure how to apply that in terms of JavaScript... also, would that convert the whole range? Or just 1 note?

Using the Handle Midi on note.velocity should do that for every note events. It should convert the whole range. and all the notes that go through the script (which I don't have time to do and test at the moment). You likely will have to use the JS round method Math.round() in your script, as described here.

25 minutes ago, Danny Wyatt said: