Mastering n00b with 2 entry-level questions

Go to solution Solved by David Nahmani,

Hello,

I wanted to ask for help related to Mastering. This is my first time taking a whole album (7 tracks, about 35 minutes) from recording, to mixing, to mastering and publishing myself. I was planning to just work on loudness and use a reference track for "mastering", but now that I'm here I realize that have a few big questions about mastering. If you're able to help shed light on these, that'd be much appreciated:

1. What's the best way to ensure the EQ and volume of my various tracks match each other? All I've found so far is mastering tutorials for doing one song at a time. I want the whole album to feel like a unified piece of art, not random tracks with different volume levels and EQs. I've gotten all my tracks close to -14 LUFS integrated loudness, but I'm still having issues with the variation in volume and mix EQ between tracks. 

2. What's the best way to get a steady/equal volume level throughout a single track? One song starts quiet, and ends loud... not just dynamically, but related to volume. I don't know an objective way to equalize the volume for the whole track... doing it by ear feels too subjective.

Is there a tool or approach that would allow me to do these two things precisely? I haven't tried mastering tools like Ozone Elements/Standard/Advanced yet. Trying to first figure out what I need to do in mastering this album before buying the tools :).

TIA,

M

I'm glad to try out the software, but was hoping to gather some information first. I'm mainly wanting to know what are the standard ways that mastering engineers can equalize volume across all tracks of an album, so they're a coherent whole? (And so people don't have to change the volume dial from song to song).

Thanks for the response @deckard1. It helped me further clarify.