Use of text whilst scoring in Logic Pro.

tsengil
Go to solution Solved by volovicg,

I'm a composer running Logic 10.0.7 on  Macbook Pro with OS 10.9.5. I've noticed there is no way to anchor text to a point in time or to a graphic point in a bar. So if I write "sulla corda" above a note and then change the lay-out to make an easier page-turn, the text can drift away and I have to reposition it. After doing this a number of times I typically find there are bits of loose text that I can't erase. Worse still, this text is only visible sometimes, but always appears if I either click on an existing text or open the print window. So then the invisible but unerasable text shows up in my Pdf.

Any answers to this? 

Does your text appear in the Event List editor? If so it should move along with the notes events. You could also delete the unwanted text elements from there. image.thumb.png.a1a49f1896fb1bb01bf176c8a32aad5d.png

It is also important that the text elements are within the system they pertain to. Adjusting the headroom may be necessary.image.thumb.png.eae467d442efb9990d43f23cd28d04b6.png

Using guide lines is often useful to ensure in which of the areas (score, margin, header, …) the text element will land.

Edited by Atlas007

Make sure you have show guidelines on for selected objects so you can see where the text is anchored - and you can select all your text items and enable the lyric checkbox in the inspector and now it will stay as you change the format. You should do this for any text that is anchored to a measure/bar/note that is not anchored to the page (free zone, header etc) 

then as you change the format it won’t screw up the text