External Hard drive recommendations pls.

I can't speak to any particular brand, but at this point I simply think that you should now opt for SSD technology – "memory chips" – as opposed to "actual spinning magnetic disks."  Not only is this technology probably more long-term reliable, but it also has no "mechanical latencies."  Any portion of the external storage can be retrieved without delay.

Fortunately, this technology has now actually become ... "dirt cheap."  You can buy "multiple terabytes" for a song at virtually any office-supply store.

Edited by MikeRobinson

Going to respectfully disagree with SSDs being "dirt cheap," in consideration of the financial and technical needs or concerns of some folks. (As an example, as a film composer, I felt the need to buy an NVMe solid state drive for the best possible speeds for tons of sample libraries. Granted, we're in Black Friday/holiday pricing mode right now, but feel free to look at how much 4 TB of that kind of storage can cost.)

I don't think Glyph has a parent company, but LaCie and G-Technology are subsidiary of (to?) Seagate and Western Digital, respectively. The first three are all considered performance brands, but because of that, I feel the latter two companies are also viable options if you need an SSD but also need to be mindful of costs. In addition, I frequently see people recommending the Samsung T5 or T7 drives, but have never owned any. The SSDs I've purchased myself for sample libraries are actually from Sabrent and PNY, and I've had enough luck with them thus far (*knock on wood* that they don't fail me any time soon). Take all that for what you will.

• Like 2

I own a Samsung T7 and it's a great little SSD. 

Another great choice is the SanDisk Extreme which is right now available in a 2TB capacity for a lower price: $150 for 2TB (vs $190 for the Samsung T7), so I would go for that one: https://amzn.to/3hVk34f