Can't hear MIDI tracks unless I mute the audio tracks or turn down their volumes

Sanctuary

Hello forum members,

I have been using Logic for less than a year (I graduated from Garageband last summer). I typically leave the volume of each of my tracks at 0 db when working on a song, and I can hear them just fine (even if the mix isn't perfect). I'm talking audio tracks (guitar and vocals), drum track created from Drum Kit Designer, etc.

However, I cannot hear my MIDI keyboard tracks unless I turn down the all the other tracks to around -20 db. And for good measure, to hear those MIDI tracks even better, I'll turn those up to around 1.5 db.

If I mute all the other tracks, I can leave the volume of the MIDI tracks at 0 db and still hear them. Does anyone know why this is the case?

When you say MIDI keyboard tracks, are you talking about software instruments, or external instruments? In either case, what are the instruments? I ask because Drum Kit Designer is a software instrument, so if the keyboard tracks are software instruments, I'd wonder why you were seeing the behavior with some software instrument tracks but not others.

Well, in a sense, the "MIDI keyboard tracks" are both (in that the notes are from a connected Akai MIDI controller and I'm using a software instrument track with a synthesizer patch from Logic's library).

I agree with you on wondering why I can hear the drum track at 0 db but not the keyboard MIDI track (unless I mute or lower the volume of the other tracks).

Hm, I have many questions! Probably more than would be reasonable to include in a single post. Anyway, here are a couple more:

- What specific Logic instrument and patch?

- Is the volume different when you just play the instrument directly from your keyboard and/or while you're recording than it is when you play the project back?

Thanks for your help. My responses may be delayed as I have a day job. 😉

The Logic instrument/patch is Electric Sheep Synth.