External Hard Drive question

NateGerber

Hi All!

This is my first time posting on this forum, and I have to say, this place rocks, I've learned SO much here. Huge thanks and props to the kind chaps who are consistently helping others out.

So here's my little situation:

I'm running LP8 and Komplete 5 on a MBP and I have 2 external HDs (500g and 750g/FW 800 daisy chained).

I have conceived of two storage schemes for my externals, and I need some advice to figure out which one is more efficient for the software. In both schemes all software is running on the internal system drive.

First scheme: Separate streaming/writing + Cross backup

>HD1: 500g (Writing+Backup)

-Partitions: Projects/Sample Library Backup

>HD2: 750g (Streaming+Backup)

-Partitions: Sample Library/Project Backup/System Backup

Second scheme: Joint Streaming/Writing + Dedicated Backup

>HD1: 500g

- partitions: projects/sample library

>HD2: 750g backup drive

- partitions: system/sample library/projects

I’m currently using the first scheme with the thought that it makes sense to keep my sample libraries streaming from a separate drive than the drive that I’m writing my project to. The cross backup is just a subsequent reality.

But now I’m tempted to move over to the second scheme as it means that I can travel to sessions with just one external HD and do all my backup routines when I get home at night (a frequent reality)... its also less setup.

If I do switch over will I be taking a performance/stability hit?

Any advice would be appreciated! thanks!

Nate

what are you using for MIDI/Audio interface?

I'm not a huge fan of doing ANYTHING on my 'record' drive, other than recording..

are you running both drives off the FW400 or 800 on the MBP?

I think I'd keep one drive specifically for recording, and the other drive for everything else...

I had a feeling you would reply to my question! lol

I'm generally using the Motu ultralight for recording (its plugged into my FW 400 slot)