Apple Loops: Waveform Overview Problems (and other stuff)

ski

Some appleloops (in particular, some but not all of the FX), when dragged into the arrange window, display a waveform overview. Some don't. Is this normal?

Case in point: when dragged into the arrange window, "Aaronhelm Scream" will display a waveform overview but "Cereal Pour" will not.

FWIW, I'm new to appleloops, so maybe this is all appleloopnoob stuff but... as soon as I started working with appleloops I ran into a problem... when I dragging FX into the arrange, some of them would return an error message saying something about "overview can't be drawn" because of some stupid permissions thing. To remedy this I found the folder that contained all of the appleloops and changed the owner and permissions. That solved this problem. (Why they're "protected" is beyond me --- I paid for these things, yes? But I digress).

So now I don't get the error message, but still the waveform overviews of various sounds don't appear in the arrange window even though a progress bar flashes on the screen which I think is indicating that a waveform overview is being calculated.

But... (there's always a "but") opening the sample editor will indeed show the waveform of any appleloop dragged into the arrange.

Thoughts/advice/help/workarounds/understandings?

8)

Thanks for the reply, David.

Thing is... that when I add a loop (or FX) I wouldn't normally expect to have to save a project in order for the waveform to display. Would you agree?

Could you please try adding those example loops to a project and tell me if you see the same behavior?

i can confirm that 'Cereal Pour' waveform did NOT draw, but the scream one did.

:shock: :shock:

Didn't get any error messages tho..and the files both play...and the 'refresh overview' in the Sample Editor window didn't do anything to the arrange window.

1524439408_Picture1.png.5ddad415b9d5702352f3dd34e253c094.png

Edited by dkgross