iMac for Logic

I have been spending way too much time at my friend's and the local Apple store playing with Logic 8. I am truly enjoying it even with some of the bugs and issues. This has really gotten me wanting to switch back to Mac so I can get Logic 8. Both setups I have used have been on MacPros which there is no way I can afford.

I am just a hobbyist but I use a ton of virtual instruments. If I decided to get an iMac am I really going to regret it down the road? From what I am reading, an iMac will work but having to use a firewire interface seems to make using external hard drives an issue.

The interface I am using right now on my Windows PC is firewire and I do want to move to an Apogee Duet in the future. I know I can get an SATA port expander but not sure I'd want to void my warranty because it would be a major modification to use it on an iMac.

thanks for the info. It is making me feel a bit better about going the iMac route. Being a PC guy for sooo long it is still going to be hard to give up my quad-core pc and move to a platform with almost no upgrading path.

I know Intel is going to offer quad mobile cpu sometime next year. If I knew I could pop one into an iMac (the new iMacs use a zif socket) I would be a lot less hesitant. Of course that would also void my warranty.

Using an interface and HD on the same FW bus frequently leads to problems. The bus' bandwidth becomes a bottleneck as your projects' complexity grows. Some devices are more susceptible to this than others, and "YMMV" definitely applies, but stutters and crashes are common. Some people have used USB HDs successfully, although I've always found them to be too slow for sustained audio. My experience with USB audio interfaces is limited, but was characterized by high latency. Before deciding, it'd be worth it to get specifics about the previous posters' setups and decide if they'd work for your purposes.