Subliminal influence shining trough in your music?

Bowromir

I don't know if the topic subject is clear, because I'm not sure if I used the right words (I'm dutch, don't shoot me..).. But have you ever create a peace of music, which you thought was entirely your own, until you realised that somehow you almost managed to recreate a track which already existed!

A recent example.. I was playing around on the piano, and came up with a simple basic chord scheme. C Em/b C Em F Em F G. Since I am really new to music, I haven't developed a musical hearing yet, so everything I have heard before I started making music (which is about a year now) was simply music, no theory knowledge whatsoever.. So after a while I have a pretty cool song, kinda folkish and movie like.. So I add a violin, and a electric piano.. some additional strings and a bebop like drum.. I'm really suprised by the sudden boost of inspiration of adding instruments which fit the song so good! It all sound so logical!

About a week later I was watching Little Miss Sunshine for the 2nd time, and I absolutelty love the music in the film and listened to the soundtrack quite a few times about a year ago, but never "musically"..and the theme song starts playing.. And I am like; hey this sound kinda like my song.. cool! And then I start to listen better, and realize it also starts with C and Em.. and later uses almost the same progessions.. heck it even uses the same intruments and a familiar drum rhytm! And my violins sound the same aswell! I almost recreated the whole song, without even knowing it! Offcourse mine is not as good(duh) and they are different, but I was really suprised.

I'll post my song soon, just haven't got time to finish it, but then you can take a listen.. Have you ever created a song that sounded just like another song, without you realising it? If yes, let us hear!

Greatings,

Bowromir