Help with making stuff sound a bit less "home studio

Hicksyfern

I have linked one of two songs recorded using some HD recorder, with the tracks imported into Logic Express and mixed on my MacBook.

I would like some constructive criticism with regards to the production (the songwriting is nothing to do with me), and suggestions as to how I might go about making it less home studio-y.

As you can tell it's not totally finished, so no suggesting using fade-outs, please!

If you want to know anything about how I mixed it, effects used, busses, etc., then just ask.

Cheers,

Tom

Download link

http://rapidshare.com/files/91275266/Apple.mp3.html

let me guess...you're the guitarist :D

no offence, i'm a guitarist myself......bring them down...the vocals are having to fight for position

overall i like it...in terms of making it less home studio-like, i'm not sure (just learning this myself).......

the mix sounds quite muddy to me...what i have learnt is to give everything it's space both in the stereo field, and the range of frequencies

you have achieved nice positioning with the b.v's, but i'd get that guitar away from the centre to give the vocal more space...

.also, cut some of the lower frequencies on the guitar (channel eq is good for this)....this will allow the guitar and bass to sit better together (less muddy)...to further accentuate this, maybe cut some of the higher bass frequencies.......i think this will help achieve some more breathing space to the mix....as much as possible, let everything sit in it's own frequency and stereo space

hope this helps

oh...and you might wanna consider a fade out....... :lol: (couldn't resist)

I'm not the guitar player actually, that's my brother. I played the Rhodes, Clavinet and bass on this recording.

He's a guitar player and singer in a professional soul band and is basically looking for some recognition as a songwriter, hence this little stint of music-making.