Logic Pro newbie having trouble with Tascam FW1082

Fonikar

Hello all

This is my first post as I am new to mac ownership and to Logic Pro.

I am running a G5 with Leopard 10.5, Logic Pro 8 and using a Tascam FW1082 as my audio interface.

I am really confused trying to get this working. It seems to vary completely on what mood it is in. Sometimes it doesn't react at all. Sometimes it does, but the faders control the pan, but there is nothing in the setup that gives a clue how to get it to work to control levels. I have tried a test in controller assignments and it seems to sense everything just fine, but equally it seems to flash random lights (esp the mute ones) and sometimes it seems to randomly swap between selecting channel 1 and 2 and some faders seem to randomly parallel up.

I had wondered if it was some sort of MIDI loopback that was causing the trouble.

I'm sure this is a simple problem that is down to my noviceness with this setup.

Thanks in advance.

Yes. I believe so.

I double clicked on the file - FW-1082_OSX_1.6.0.dmg

From what I've found i believe this is the most recent driver.

I think I might also have installed the DPPluging driver too - could this have caused a problem? If so how would I uninstall it?

Thanks

Hello all

This is my first post as I am new to mac ownership and to Logic Pro.

I am running a G5 with Leopard 10.5, Logic Pro 8 and using a Tascam FW1082 as my audio interface.

I am really confused trying to get this working. It seems to vary completely on what mood it is in. Sometimes it doesn't react at all. Sometimes it does, but the faders control the pan, but there is nothing in the setup that gives a clue how to get it to work to control levels. I have tried a test in controller assignments and it seems to sense everything just fine, but equally it seems to flash random lights (esp the mute ones) and sometimes it seems to randomly swap between selecting channel 1 and 2 and some faders seem to randomly parallel up.