Please help with logic connection to sound module

pharaoh1tay

hey guys,

i am a newbie to mac and MIDI but i'm slowly learning it day by day.

I've been trying to figure out this problem for almost a week now... i need some serious help.

i have a Imac OS X with logic pro 8.0.0. i purchased a small interface (presonus audiobox usb). i connected the USB from the interface to the mac. on the interface, i have my motif board (used as midi controller) connected MIDI IN and OUT to the presonus interface. on the motif, i have MIDI THRU going MIDI IN the roland. i can hear the sounds off the roland but i'm only able to record it as MIDI on logic. how can i convert it to audio so when i format my session to MP3, i'd be able to hear it? if helps more, i have a mixer connected to the interface as well through 1/4 inch cables.

from the mixer, i have the motif and roland connected as well using 1/4 cables. that's how i'm able to hear the sounds. is there a certain file on logic i need to click on to select a specific option? i select EXTERNAL MIDI when i open my logic session.

thanks in advance

i select EXTERNAL MIDI when i open my logic session.

This creates Midi device in the "Midi Instr" enviro layer and midi track arrange track etc... but no audio routings, that's why you can record midi only. To be able to record the audio path of your hardware synth you need to create audio track corresponding to your audio interface inputs where the synths are hooked up.

Another way is to create new Audio Instrument (Software Instr.) and insert "External Instrument" on the instrument slot like you do with EXS ES1 etc...Read page 256 of the Manual to have an idea about. This way you can FX process your external device, save lots of audio track Enviro and Arrange workspace, HD room and finally the audio path will be included in the Bounce process.