External MIDI problems

jbeadle

For some unknown reason MIDI channels 1, 6 and 13 in the external MIDI device will not play any sound. All the other channels seem to generate a sound with the exception of these 3. Also the output level for the remaining MIDI channels is unusually low. I'm using a ROLAND XP10 with the keyboard volume set to maximum, yet the sound output is almost inaudible.

The software instrument output levels are fine, as are the audio levels.

What is it with Logic 8 and external MIDI – there's very little documentation in the manual on external MIDI. I just returned from a Logic 8 Pro seminar where Apple was promoting their software, along with the manufacturers of compatible hardware (Euphonix, Apogee) and neither one of these units supports MIDI, external or otherwise. I am a guitarist, and certainly have no ambition to become a keyboardist, however I would at least like to be able to augment my recordings with brass, strings, piano where necessary. Is this possible within Logic 8, are have I missed something?

J

I am having the same problem. Logic does not seem to handle external midi well at all. I think it may have something to do with the way things are setup in the "environment" window, but I am an intelligent guy and still cannot figure out what they are talking about. Apple needs to clear this up!

For some unknown reason MIDI channels 1, 6 and 13 in the external MIDI device will not play any sound. All the other channels seem to generate a sound with the exception of these 3. Also the output level for the remaining MIDI channels is unusually low. I'm using a ROLAND XP10 with the keyboard volume set to maximum, yet the sound output is almost inaudible.

The software instrument output levels are fine, as are the audio levels.