Main hard drive seems noisy

Hello -

The main drive (Macintosh HD) of my Mac Pro (please note set-up below) seems more noisy at present. I can hear it spin, for example, when I open a program or verify the drive. It's not quite a grinding sound and it's not constant. This louder sound seems to happen during the "search" phase before starting a program or when verifying the disk. Maybe it's just a normal sound and I'm just noticing it now. However, the other two drives to the computer do not seem as noisy when I use the verify function. My main concern is that the main drive might be failing. Should I take this concern seriously and start looking for another hard drive to replace the main one?

I'm not an expert computer user. And although I've been using the Mac Pro for over 1 1/2 years, I "grew up" in the computer world using PCs. The sound that the main drive (to the Mac Pro) is currently making is sadly similar to the sound the hard drives make on a nearly 10 year old Dell workstation that I still use on rare occasions.

Thank you in advance. . .

Ted

The other day an external drive was louder than the rest and while trying to open sessions it would give me the beach ball and I needed to force quit the program. When I went to verify the disk it displayed a B-Tree error (a bad thing) and wouldn't mount again. So I had to initialize the drive, which means reformatting, aka erasing everything.

In your case it could be a formatting issue like it happened to me. Drives on a mac are supposed to be quiet.

I guess your suspicion is correct and I would be considering backing up that drive just in case with Time Machine.

If it's a software issue, formatting will fix it, assuming you backed everything up. If on top of that you hear clicking noises then it's a mechanical issue and then you should be considering buying another drive.