Interface choices, please clear the confusion.

Good day,

I have searched these forums until bleary eyed, and have read quite a bit of excellent information, but I guess I need a more straight forward answer to my "dilemma", Yes I am a noob, but learning quickly & taking this very seriously.

I am using Logic Pro currently, the Studio update is on my desk waiting to get installed I just haven't yet until I know my next step. Which is where this forum comes in.

I am using a Power Mac G5 & Pro 7, my question is what do you guys recommend for an interface for my situation.

I have a metal band, or am the band. I will need the ability to record an 8 piece drum kit, 2 guitars & a bass simultaneously. I was under the impression that I needed mic pres for all the drums, and overheads.

Am I wrong here?

I think I am dead set on two MOTU 8 Pres to get all the i/o that I need plus the pres.

Am I crazy thinking I need 2, 8 pres?

I would love Apogee hardware, but for the number of ins I need I can not afford that, or am I totally wrong in my thinking altogether?

Is the 828MKIII a better choice?

Is there another option that I should know about?

I helped recently with a session using a Mackie Onyx 16 channel firewire board into a PC, and we were fully capable of doing everything I needed, would that be a better choice of an interface?

It seemed like over kill or at least redundant with all the mixing options I have in Logic. I was not running the board, just beating on drums & doing guitar tracks, I wasn't really interested in the guys sequencer but couldn't help but notice how easy things went with the Onyx. That has pres on all channels, phantom power, but only main outs & headphone outs.

I'm now more confused than ever, please help get me straight.

Thanks in advance.