newbie question about ultrabeat and importing

spaz

so i tried to import synth sounds to ultrabeat; i go to import, browse through and get to plug in settings. in there i choose ESE, and select analogpad.pst i click open, and then..... i get the spinning beach balloon forever, logic blocks, nothing happens, and i am forced to force quit logic.

what happened here ?? did i do something not allowed ?

thanks!

Well, you're allowed, but it won't work. The preset files for one type of synth will not work with another synth. They simply do not have the same controls.

Do you want to import samples into UB?

You could use the ESE sounds, but UB is only going to allow you to drag in EXS samples.

You'll have to turn your ESE sound into audio, shove it to EXS24, then off to UB.

I'm also a relative newb here though, there might be a better way...

See if the experts chime in...

:arrow:

(looks like one did)

Well, you're allowed, but it won't work. The preset files for one type of synth will not work with another synth. They simply do not have the same controls.

in the manual p. 350 it says: " You can import drum sounds and sequences from other Ultrabeat settings into your currently active drum kit. You can also import sounds from EXS instruments: Ultrabeat reproduces the EXS layout as closely as possible. Layered EXS zones are set up as layered drum sounds, using the sample playback mode of Osc 2. ....

.....To open an Ultrabeat setting or EXS instrument in the import list:

1 Click on the Import field in Ultrabeat’s upper left corner.

2 Browse to, and select the Ultrabeat setting or EXS instrument from which you want to

import sounds, then click Open.

A list of all the sounds found in the selected setting or EXS instrument will be shown

next to the Mixer section. "

so i thought that i could import a say lead or pad or other sound as a .pst file.

and also, why does it crash or get stuck, instead of giving me right away an error message ??

seems strange.