Ease of composition and beat creation?

Hi all. I'm a guitarist with a visual design background trying to put together my first album. All the guitar parts & vocals have been written, I'm currently trying to sort out everything else :lol:. I've been playing with Ableton to create my beats and it's went reeeally well - I have a small collection of drum samples that I've turned into an impulse instrument I like, and used the draw mode to create some pretty solid beats (if I may say so).

Now I want to write bass lines and it isn't anywhere near as simple. I want a double bass on one song and to get a good sound with Ableton I'm looking at one or two upgrades, to get the 'tension' string synth and/or to get the double bass instrument in one of their collections.

On the other hand, Logic express *seems* to have everything I need already included, and if I ever need something else upgrades seem capped at $500 for Logic Pro. I'm wondering if my perceptions are correct?

I have a few various guitars recording through a Line 6 x3 live, with one real (vox) amp and those provide every guitar sound I need. I just need good and easy bass/drum instruments for an indy rock sound. Would logic be anywhere near as easy as Live?

Thanks for your advice.

You'll surely be able to find a good amount of bass in Logic, but do you really need everything else Logic comes with?

How about a sample pack for basses?

Try looking for a plug-in for bass only. Doesn't have to big name to do the job.

But Express is $200, and you might get a ton of stuff that you might appreciate. Like Ultrabeat or the ES2.

I doubt I need much of what comes with Pro as opposed to Express - I'm just happy that Logic Pro is $499 and that's as high as it can go - ableton live is $499, but the suite is $999 and that doesn't include all their instrument packs - to get all 3 double bass articulations would cost $189. Or I could use their string synth for $130 instead (sounds quite good in my testing).