noise

dle353

I'm brand new to logic,garageband ,apple.... all of it. I have just a basic question. What tools do any of you recommend is the best for me to apply to eliminate background hissing and general noise from recordings. not room noise, actual hissing during playback. I'm sure there's a simple answer, again I'm a rookie. Thanks

I'm brand new to logic,garageband ,apple.... all of it. I have just a basic question. What tools do any of you recommend is the best for me to apply to eliminate background hissing and general noise from recordings. not room noise, actual hissing during playback. I'm sure there's a simple answer, again I'm a rookie. Thanks

Is this hiss present on the tracks that you have recorded into Logic? Like, if you play one of the audio regions in the Sample Editor window, is the hiss present as part of the recording?

If so, I think you should stop worrying about "eliminating" the hiss, and start looking into why the hiss is there in the first place. You should be able to record without any hiss issues.

So, first thing's first: you need to tell us what you're working on! Macbook, iMac, etc? What is your audio interface (as whatever you're using will probably be the main culprit for the hiss)? And so forth. Give us as many details as possible. We simply cannot help you without any info about your setup!

For future reference, do what most of us have done and add your details to your signature!

Thank you for your reply and sorry for the lack of information. I'm running a fast track pro thru a mac book 10.4.11 with 2 gigs of memory on logic express 8. The noise is only heard when recording live instruments or vocals. The loops are fine. I'm leaning towards possible cables or levels on the interface itself (it's USB) but I'm not quite sure. If this is the case I was hoping there would be a way I could possibly eliminate or reduce the hissing thru the program. Please advise if you require more information. Thank you, Dave