Drum programming

Hi. I'm new to the forum although I have browsed it on occasion. I'm also rather new to Logic, I used Reason for years before.

Anyway, my question is if anyone has ideas, methods or techniques on how to create a glitched/delayed mashed up style beat. Its a little hard to explain but a drum sound that an artist like Aphex Twin or Prefuse 73 would use. :?:

Hi. I'm new to the forum although I have browsed it on occasion. I'm also rather new to Logic, I used Reason for years before.

Anyway, my question is if anyone has ideas, methods or techniques on how to create a glitched/delayed mashed up style beat. Its a little hard to explain but a drum sound that an artist like Aphex Twin or Prefuse 73 would use. :?:

Lots of cutting and sampling. Aphex Twin, particularly, is like a scientist in a lab. He'll sit there and cut samples up piece by piece and plug them in manually.

What you can do is get an audio sample of a bass drum/snare drum/ whatever, slice it up and save that as a sample. You can also pitch shift and have fun with it. Then, you can plug in those samples into Ultrabeat (or into Redrum in Reason-- which is what I would do), and program them as you see fit.

There are various other methods, but this is what I've been using. I have a sample of something l did last year (before I had Logic) with Reason and Cool Edit Pro (or "Adobe Audition," as its now called).

http://www.myspace.com/eyelinerband

Listen to the first track, "Moonlight Sonata Dirty Techno A."

Basically, when you get to the last 30 seconds of the 1 min sample, you'll hear the glitchy effect. I took the drum beat I made in Reason (that you hear in the rest of the song), placed it into Adobe Audition as a wav file, and just chopped up anything I could. Then I plugged in the samples that I liked back into Reason, and then just went to town.