First 2 songs with Logic... some feedback?

gregaudio

The first one is really simple, basically doing the same things I was doing in garageband except at much higher quality.

Windstorm

Somehow it made front page on that website, which has a huge audio community. O_o

Second one, after pouring over SFLogicNinja's youtube tutorials, I made a much more advanced song. I learned sidechaining, how to properly use filters and automation, and learned a lot about compression, EQ, and mastering.

Dream Addiction [Trance Mix]

I'm kind of disappointed that my newer one is getting much less of a response, as I feel it is better.

I'm 18 years old, and have been making audio for over a year, but only seriously for about 3 months. I am self taught and I would consider myself a beginner. I'd like the opinion from some more professional people here, as opposed to other people my age.

Hi there.

First I'd say Both songs are good.

In Windstorm I would ditch the bell sound or change it to less bell-quality like sound. In my opinion it is a bit annoying and gives the song a "childish" feel. I also feel that the panned synth sound in the background starting at 00:49 has some rhythmic problems in a away that it doesn't support the rhythmic feel of the song at all. Maybe if it had a faster pattern with more notes in it?

The real fun in this song begins at 2:50 where the arpeggiators kick in. That is the part which is interesting in the song (just take the bell-sound away).

The production in Dream Addiction is more "professional". This song has nice chords and sounds fit together well. The short synth sound (starting at 00:56) could be again more rhythmic as the back beat it's playing now starts to sound boring and annoying quite fast. Again I would add more complex rhythm to it and pan it rhythmically "all over" with some high resonance filter sweeps etc.