Should I invest in Reaktor 5 and why?

hello everybody, I was just wondering if anyone here uses reaktor 5? I'm quite new at producing/logic etc but am very interested in Electronic music production. I am a member over on http://www.idmforums.com and it seems that everyone over there is using Reaktor. To be honest I'm not even 100 percent sure exactly what its used for. If anyone has any information or could give me a lowdown that would be fantastic!!! Thanks

Danny King.

p.s. sorry if this is in the wrong section but diddn't know where to post.

It's the right section! :wink:

Not sure whether you've already done this or not, but you may want to check out the Reaktor 5 page - it should give you a good idea of what it is and what you could use it for. It also has a little flash player to hear samples of what it can do.

http://www.native-instruments.com/index.php?id=reaktor5_us

Basically it's a very very flexible synth programming environment, meaning you can simply use presets which are all sorts of original weird synths, or you can actually make your own synths using whatever architecture you like, cabling VCOs, VCFs, VCAs, modulation sources, faders, knobs, etc....

You should buy it because:

You instantly get access to all the thousand-something ensembles (plug-ins, basically) in the Reaktor User Library. There's synths, samplers, sequencers, samplers, effects, grooveboxes etc. There's so many great ones that make sounds that nothing else does. The synths also has a different sound to them than other virtual instruments.

And when the time is right you can get into building your own ensembles, studying any ensemble from the user library and mix them up or make your own from scratch. For example Squarepusher and Autechre does it this way.