Advice on mixing

Hi,

I just finished mixing an original song of mine in Logic 8 and then had it sent out to be mastered. When I got the master back it sounded really good but not quite as good as what you might hear on the radio. I got a second opinion of the mastered version from a guy at a different mastering house. He thought the master sounded good as well, but felt that there were problems in the mix that needed to be addressed. I learned from him that the song should leave your hands such that it already sounds like something you would hear on the radio--and that mastering only enhances the details, it will not compensate for a song that is not mixed properly.

I am not a professional mix engineer. I've only worked with 4- and 8-track analog. This is my first shot at mixing a song in Logic. My question is this: would it be better for me to hire a pro mix engineer to do the mixing? I am working on an album and want it to sound the best it can be. At this point I don't have the skills to mix properly and need help. Any advice would be appreciated. Thanks!

Frankie

One thing I'm going to say is this: Mixing is hard, true. But mixing your own tune is even harder. I think that's more the issue. Taking a song that you wrote through the recording phase and then all the way through mixing/production is a real challenge. You hear it a certain way, you have a certain idea for the song, you have your limits - we all do. A fresh set of ears to mix your song is more valuable in five minutes than 5 hours of your own time might be. Maybe.