load sound patch (.sysex) into mainstage

poiuytrezaman

Hi,

I just started useing mainstage 2 and logic, I think it great but I have a question and I hope someone can help me out.

I have a microkorg and I used to work with sysex files which I loaded into my microkorg with MS2000Librarian. But now I want to completly tranfer to mainstage 2 for my live performances but I can't seem to figure out how I can load my sysex patches into mainstage 2 (So get the same sound I get on the microkorg but inside mainstage2). I hope this is possible because I don't want to lose the sounds I have created with my microkorg.

I hope someone can help me and remember I'm new to this kind of stuff so please give detailed information

Thank x

I have a microkorg and I used to work with sysex files which I loaded into my microkorg with MS2000Librarian. But now I want to completly tranfer to mainstage 2 for my live performances but I can't seem to figure out how I can load my sysex patches into mainstage 2

You can't, because MS2 can only deal with MMC SysEx. But there is a very easy work-around: SysEx Librarian http://www.snoize.com/SysExLibrarian/ allows to send any SysEx to external devices triggered by a MIDI program change message. That fits very nicely into the MS workflow, because MS2 can easily send a program change on patch changes to a certain MIDI port.

thanks for the reply but I'm not sure I understand it correct.

So what you have to do is create a patch in mainstage that sais it has to use the sysex file in sysex Librarian?

And could you please explain how I have to do this, I've downloaded the program and my sysex file are loaded inside the program.

So what you have to do is create a patch in mainstage that sais it has to use the sysex file in sysex Librarian?

You need to create a patch with a external instrument channel strip. Set the port to SysEx Librarian. Then in the inspector tab, choose a unique program change number.