In need of a clean guitar DI signal

Hi,

This is probably partly because I'm a lame guitar/bass player (been playing all of two months), but I really can't get a clean signal from my electric guitar and bass. Because I'm new to this (I'm a piano player), I need some help getting a decent sound.

My two types of signal chain are:

Epiphone les paul > MOTU Traveler

Epiphone les paul > Apogee Duet

Things are slightly better with my Duet, but I get hum, a muddy sound and whenever I put my recordings through something like Guitar Rig 3, those hums, clicks and squeaks are amplified loads (depending on the amp model of course) creating a pretty unpleasant sound in comparison to what I hear elsewhere.

I'm looking to get the type of sound you can hear on the iZotop Trash demos (before they're put through the plugin of course):

http://www.izotope.com/products/audio/trash/samples.html

If I don't touch the strings on either the guitar or bass, there is a loud hum, but i assume that is normal right?

I was thinking about getting an UA Solo/610 as I was told this would help loads with getting a good bass and guitar signal. Apparently, it would also be good for vocals:

http://www.dv247.com/studio-equipment/universal-audio-solo-610-classic-vacuum-tube-mic-pre-and-di-box--33426

Can any guitar/bass pro out there confirm that the above is the way to go or recommend something else?

Thanks,

Cato

My two types of signal chain are:

Epiphone les paul > MOTU Traveler

Epiphone les paul > Apogee Duet

Things are slightly better with my Duet,

As they should be. The Traveler has no instrument level inputs.

If I don't touch the strings on either the guitar or bass, there is a loud hum, but i assume that is normal right?

No.

I was thinking about getting an UA Solo/610

If you're not getting a clean signal with the Duet's instrument inputs, then you should look at your pickups and cable first as the culprits before shelling out for a new DI/Pre.