MIDI track/channel question

gtomassetti

Hi:

I'm quite new to Logic, and I'm pretty confused about something.

I have several multi-timbral software instruments — sample players, specifically. If I create an instrument track using, say, Kontakt 4, and drop a sound into it on MIDI channel 1, everything is fine. And then, if I add more sounds to Kontakt, they automatically set themselves for channels 2, 3, etc. If I tell Logic "New track with next MIDI channel," everything works perfectly.

But, using this method, I can't set the instrument faders in Logic's Mixer to different levels. Changing the fader for one instrument changes the faders for all.

I've found that if I do command-D, and get a new track with duplicate settings, I CAN change the fader levels independently. I figured, great, I'll just do that and change the MIDI channels on each subsequent track.

But, then I can't get Logic to communicate with the sample player on anything other than channel 1. This happens in Kontakt, SampleTank, MachFive, you name it.

I realize that a way around this would be just to instantiate a new instrument on every track, but that seems like it would be so unnecessary — why have a multi-timbral sample player then?

So I'm wondering if anyone can tell me how to use the "new track with next MIDI channel" method while still having individual control over the faders, OR, how to use the "new track with duplicate settings" method, and change the MIDI channel and have Logic communicate with the sample player on several different channels.

Any help will be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,

Gary

Edited by gtomassetti

First, try renaming your post from, "Probably a dumb MIDI question" to something that relates to its content snd you will have a much better chance of receiving meaningful responses from people who use multi-timbral instruments in Logic. Please refer to: Read Me before posting - Forum Guidelines (#2).