portable audio recorder for: everything?

Hi, I'm a music producer and sound artist (electroacustic music, field recordings and soundscapes etc). I'm looking to invest in a portable audio recorder which, given my recordings needs (everything from instruments to interviews to atmospheric noise) can pretty much record anything in really high quality. Most recorders i've looked at are really good for some things and not others. some have a small size and large memory but no phantom power, others have full xlr inputs but are way too big and bulky.

I suppose i'm going digital... or should i stick with analog tape? heh

anyway, lemme kno your thoughts, suggestions and opinions. all are welcome

thx

ROL

Unless you want a google list of "portable field recorder", state your needs explicitly. People are definitely weak in mind reading when consulted for free.

Christian

i'm really just interested in what random bits of information that come up. I figure most people who are really happy with their particular piece of equipment wont hesitate to suggest it. I was trying to be vague in my post for that reason.

thanks for the insight though

right on, i've heard good things about the microtrack recorders as well (which is odd, because i hate m-audio's primarily crap products)

at this point im actually looking at just getting a second hand 1st generation microtrack to use in the mean time. then renting various more expensive recorders to get a feel for them before dropping a ton of money.

hopefully the 1st gen microtrack is not too outdated/bad quality. i am looking to do professional sounding recordings..

....i'm drooling over that nagra

The Sound Devices 702 is pretty much the going workhorse these days:

http://www.sounddevices.com/products/702.htm

ah interesting. i was wondering what the going standard was, so that's good to hear.