best sum mixer

Ok, I have narrowed down my search for sum mixers to this

'Dangerous Music D-Box 8200' (last post I promise!!!!)

I'm told the D-Box is the best solution if I want to get rid of my mackie desk and mix inside Logic.

Before I buy it can someone please tell me if this is a good call??

The other contender was the Mercenary audio 8200, but from what I can see there is little difference.

Please help.

Cheers,

Dan.

Having not used any analogue summing boxes like these, I can't comment directly. But I have a lot of experience of using different analogue consoles to sum digital recordings.

I'd say, make sure you look at the SSL X-Desk, essentially it's an analogue summing box but with faders and more routing options including analogue cue and effects sends/returns.

Also there was a bit of a shoot out on the digidesign forum a while back, maybe have a look there and see if you can listen to the results, there's not a MASSIVE amount of difference in any configuration, and the difference between analogue an digital summing was also very small.

Personally I wouldn't go there unless the summing box had faders, eq's and compressors in it, but that's a console isn't it?

Personally I wouldn't go there unless the summing box had faders, eq's and compressors in it, but that's a console isn't it?

Yup. It's funny that in all the discussion about "analog" summing, no one ever compares them to taking all your outs and bridging them to a piece of copper using precision resistors, ie a totally passive approach. You could build one for less than 50 bucks, probably. OK, OK, I know, I'm a troublemaker!

Thanks for the post David.

Ive just looked at the SSL desk online, it looks pretty tasty I must say.

Given that I use eq's and mixes inside Logic, do I really need to sum using a desk like this?

At the moment I go out of my MOTU 896 into my Mackie.

But I have zero'd the faders etc as I don't need them.