The Dogsbodies - Deceased (constructive criticism, pls)

PVLKRS

Hi everyone,

As my friends, who recorded this great track, were not satisfied with the way the studio guy mixed it, I offered them that I'll try my best to mix it so the final sound more suits their desires. But my mixing skills are pretty low, I'm still a beginner, so I would like to hear your opinions about the song's sound. And preferably including the ways how to improve it (EQ, Comp, reverb tips etc...).

my mix:

Original:

The key question would be what your friends did and did not like in the original mix and how you have incorporated that in your work.

Without that info it's quite hard to say whether you im- or deproved the mix.

Although I must add that yours sounds pretty squashed to me dynamicwise. I wanted to turn it down whereas I wanted to turn up the original.

Christian

The key question would be what your friends did and did not like in the original mix and how you have incorporated that in your work.

Without that info it's quite hard to say whether you im- or deproved the mix.

Although I must add that yours sounds pretty squashed to me dynamicwise. I wanted to turn it down whereas I wanted to turn up the original.

Christian

Hallo!

Thanks for a quick reply.

Well, the thing my friends find the most annoying in the original mix is that it has too much reverb on it, There's pretty huge reverb on the overall master that is making the song kind of muddy. And there's plenty of reverbs put on individual tracks too. So, achieving more clarity of the song and all the instruments was the main goal for me.

They also wanted synths to be more prominent in the mix, and make more room for them, because they kind of clash with the guitars, eq-wise.

I also discussed the overall dynamics of the song with them and I was told that "it rocks from the beginning to the end and that's how it should be", so stopped worrying about that.