Hello to everybody :-)

Josh83

Hey everybody

Just wanted to say hello to you folks. I'm new to the music production scene, and I haven't done anything remarkably yet. But I have played the piano as a child for some years, and I just love music, and after not playing piano for several years I have now bought an electronic yamaha piano p140 (an awesome product in my opinion, by the way! I simply love it!), connected it to my Mac and played around a while with GarageBand, and now I really feel like diving deeper into music production... So I guess in a while I will get my own copy of Logic Pro which I heard is the Grandfather of GarageBand and start playing around with it. :-)

By the way, is there a demo version or a light version or something of Logic? For just playing around and not yet knowing whether it will become a beloved hobby of mine it's a bit expensive. ;-)

I'm looking forward to have a great time with my piano, my Mac and with you folks here on the site! Let the show begin! :-)

Keep care,

Josh

Welcome Josh! Whether a professional, hobbyist or something in-between, you've come to the right place. This board is just crawling with really smart and helpful (and occasionally delightfully snarky) people who can help with almost any problem. They've saved me on countless occasions — that's for sure!

Enjoy!

Hi Josh -

To answer your question about a demo of Logic: no there is not. But, garageband is essentially the free demo of logic - the GUI is different, but the same basic principles apply. If you purchase logic, you can open your garageband projects in logic and continue right along. Logic express is a less feature rich version of logic pro. You will not get some of the cooler instruments and effects. But you can always upgrade when you feel the time is right.

Hope this helps!

• 7 months later...

Hey guys

Thanks a lot for your nice welcome. I seem not to have subscribed to this thread, so I missed your replies. ;)