What do I need to use Waves plugins with Logic Pro 9?

Paul MK

I'm looking at buying some Waves plugins

Firstly I'm faced with the TDM / Native question.

Really dumb question probably, but can anyone tell me the advantages/disadvantages of each?

Also - What else would I need to buy (other than Logic & Waves plug-ins to make them work?) software/hardware... for TDM?... for Native?

I'd really appreciate any help as I can't get my head around it. :?

Paul

For native, you wouldn't need to buy any specific audio hardware outside of your Intel-based Mac. They just utilize your Mac's CPU. However, for either native or TDM you will need to buy an iLok if you don't already have one. That is how Waves handles their copy protection.

If you wanted to go TDM, it would require buying some of Avid's DSP hardware that can host them. This would free up CPU cycles for other things. I believe Logic can utilize TDM versions, but I have no experience doing that so I could be wrong.

My advice would be to stick with native, because overall it will be less expensive and more flexible for you. You won't be beholden to any specific piece of hardware (other than your Mac's CPU and RAM, and an iLok).

Before you buy any Waves plugins, you should also learn about the Waves Update Plan. No other company I'm aware of does updates the way Waves does. If you use Waves plugins long enough and move to newer versions of Logic or OS X, odds are good you will eventually need to utilize this and it will cost money. Some people like it, some people hate it, but either way you should know what you're getting yourself into.

http://www.wavesupport.net/content.aspx?id=2160

Here you go! Welcome to the forum. :D

What is your current setup? TDM is Avid's hardware made for Pro Tools. Where does Logic come into this? Please tell us more about your situation.

:lol: Thanks Matt... I did try googling first honest!