No input signal in Logic (works fine in Garageband)

Croz

I am using Logic 9.1.3 (1697.87) (32-bit).

I am having a problem that I am sure is related to my wetware (i.e. my brain), and I apologize for not finding the answer that is likely already posted somewhere here in these vast archives. I am very new to Logic.

My problem is that despite following the instructions for creating and Audio track I am not getting an input signal through my audio interface (an M-Audio FastTrack Ultra 8R).

I can record and play back just fine using the the FastTrack in Garageband so I am sure this is a wetware/software issue.

- I have followed the instructions to create a record-enabled Audio track (several times!)

- Logic is seeing the FastTrack and I have selected it for both input and output in the Audio Prefereces pane

- I can record audio to Logic using the built-in mic on my Mac

- Logic output through the FastTrack is working fine

Why am I not getting any input signal? Any guidance will be most appreciated! I am sure I am just missing a menu option or a check box.

Help? And sorry for the newbie question, but I gotta say I am delighted to have found this incredible place! Wow! :-)

Hello and welcome!

- I have followed the instructions to create a record-enabled Audio track (several times!)

- Logic is seeing the FastTrack and I have selected it for both input and output in the Audio Prefereces pane

- I can record audio to Logic using the built-in mic on my Mac

- Logic output through the FastTrack is working fine

You don't say anything about setting the correct input in the channel strip's input slot. Check that.

J.

Thanks for the reminder, jordito. Yes, the input is properly set in the channel strip.

I have made some progress but I'm still puzzled.