Roland Drum Machine - Song Patterns

logicstu-jdc

Hello Fellow Logicians:

I have a ton of songs I've written with my Roland Boss 660 drum machine, and I don't want to reinvent the wheel through logic. How can I divide/assign logic studio to trigger the pads through the Roland? :?:

I'm sure someone's been down this path before. I don't want to re-write the songs under Logic.

Thanks!

(New Keyboard Logician at JDC)

Hi David,

Yes, I'd like to trigger/assign the drum pads on the roland to trigger logic --and vice versa. I'm fairly new to Logic Studio (just bought it) but I'm a former DP user.

I used to run the length of the songs into DP, then split them according to their midi note numbers to trigger the sounds.

I think I understand. I use a Boss DR-880 as drum controller. Every pad on the drum computer sends a certain NoteOn/NoteOff message through MIDI to Logic. In Logic you can see what message that is. Assign that message to whatever drum sound you want to trigger and you can use the drum computer as controller for the drums. My drum computer manages Superior Drummer that way.

I believe I've found a tip on how to split my drum machine tracks. Of course you lay down the entire song track and save. Second highlight the track, select the "midi" button, select "split midi event notes" ...at this point the tracks are correctly divided in order to individually control kick, snare, hi-hats (open and closed) and etc. :D

There's another sep involved with this after the splitting has occurred and it requires "bouncing the tracks in place."

I'm not sure what you're asking. Or I misinterpreted the original question to begin with. So let me try to explain my workregime. :lol: