System overload

tic_stu

Hi All,

Just took delivery of my MBP and Logic yesterday, installed logic, and tried to play the killers spaceman demo track. Transferred to drive as DVD was not up to task (expected), but now when I try to play the project through in logic I get something identical to the issue experienced here:

http://www.logicprohelp.com/viewtopic.php?t=64528

I have read the advice in this topic but I have started a new thread as I need slightly different advice.

1 - I am not a rich guy, or particularly hardware literate (can cope ok with software, but I am primarily a musician). I have spent everything i have and more to create this setup for my band to play live with backing tracks and playing the logic instruments we have used in the studio (see my sig for whole setup).

2 - I have purchased all the hardware based around the macbook running logic (i.e. motu ultralite mk3 interface for max I/O with stable drivers for mac, axiom pro 61 for MIDI integration). The apple spec for logic mentioned nothing about hard drive.

3 - Now reading this forum's replies to the above topic, (people recommending daisychaining an external drive through the audio interface...something the mk3 cannot do :( ) it is looking like I will need to spend more money to get this setup functional, and that the MBP on its own is not up to running logic...there is no more money in the coffers and I probably can't send any of this stuff back...have I made a huge mistake?

I really need potential fixes that don't involve more money changing hands...to be honest, as a musician and not a computer fiend, I feel a little cheated [perhaps unjustly] by apple as I went purely off logic's system spec, and the 15" MBP seemed to tick all the boxes with performance to spare!