Sustain Pedal registering a MIDI Note

JMDG

I'll apologize before explaining my problem, seeing as I'm new to the whole MIDI world. But here's the deal...I have a Yamaha p-95 digital grand with an M-audio SP-2 sustain pedal, and I have it connected to my MBP (using logic express) via a cheap USB-MIDI chord. It all works fine, except for the fact that when I use the sustain pedal, it registers a note - E3 specifically. Any ideas on how to prevent this?

I'll apologize before explaining my problem, seeing as I'm new to the whole MIDI world. But here's the deal...I have a Yamaha p-95 digital grand with an M-audio SP-2 sustain pedal, and I have it connected to my MBP (using logic express) via a cheap USB-MIDI chord. It all works fine, except for the fact that when I use the sustain pedal, it registers a note - E3 specifically. Any ideas on how to prevent this?

Um no I don't know the answer, but, I noticed when I first was learning how to set up my controller to Logic, that my sliders and buttons etc where triggering notes. Then I found out I had specified the controller incorrectly and the problem disappeared when I changed it to the correct one.

So I am suggesting it could be that you have the pedal incorrectly specified somehow, and I would be trouble-shooting along that line of thinking.

Sorry I couldn't be any more help.

I think Razor is on to something here,

I believe the CC# for sustain is 64, I also think the MIDI note number for E3 is 64. If your getting a note played at 127 velocity when you press the pedal then thats your problem.

I don't know off the top of my head what you would do to fix it but the first thing I'd do would be to make sure your pedal is connected through the correct socket.

Yeah, you guys seem to be spot on based on what I'm experiencing. But, the sustain pedal is in the right spot. Is there someway to map the pedal's midi output so as to not play the note? Or is that not possible...