Portamento only on certain notes, not all? [SOLVED]

pilby

I'm new to Logic Express 9, and I was experimenting with the Portamento Time (one of the MIDI CC supported in the Hyper Draw section).

I do not do live audio recordings, only MIDI music. My goal is simple. Given two notes an octave apart, I wanted the first note to glide towards the second note.

I asked for help in this forum, and the closest answer I got was adjusting the Glide parameter at the plug-in interface. While that did provide the portamento effect I was looking for, the Glide parameter turned out to be a setting that affects the ENTIRE track as opposed to just the two notes I'm working on. This is evidenced by the fact that even if I had no MIDI portamento events, notes would still glide from one to the next THROUGHOUT THE TRACK as long as my Glide setting was in effect.

Can anyone please tell me how I can make one note glide to the next and ONLY those two notes without affecting all the other notes in the track?

Thanks.

Automate the glide parameter, using track automation: set your track to "Latch", and move the glide knob manually while Logic is playing the song. Your movements will be recorded.

I went to Track > Track Automation > Automation Preferences...

In the Automation Preferences window, there is a setting that says "'Write' Mode Changes To" which provides a popup of choices, and that's where I see the "Latch" option. Is that what you were referring to?

I'm also not sure it's a good idea for me to set my portamento data on-the-fly. If I had a C4 bass note that I wanted to glide down to C3 within a half a second as part of a song transition, I need to be precise on the duration of the glide, and doing it on-the-fly will likely lead to imprecision. Is there a way I can pre-set the portamento values statically the way I could the other MIDI CC types?

I always thought the Portamento Time in the Hyper Draw was what I should use, but I couldn't make it work the way I want.